Dear Tree

I look at you, Dear Tree, everyday as I leave home, and when I walk back at night. During the day, you look nothing unlike the others, standing in the line, unmoved, unfazed by the strong force of the wind. You are not so special; a skeleton of twigs and branches without the cover of foliage. You look different though, at night, when the street lamp lights you up; a beautiful play of light and shadow. You come out with a glow, a luminescence of white, which lines up perfectly with your frame. Each one of your twigs shines with that glow. That beauty of yours captivates me; it makes me want to keep looking at you until my eyes are tired; until I have taken in all the essence of that perfect visual.

Leave a Reply

